Home > Technology > Export From RoboForm to KeePass

Export From RoboForm to KeePass

Update 29Nov2009: Thanks to @jimjon for pointing out that new versions of KeePass support importing of passcards from RoboForm.  This eliminates the need to go through the tedious steps below.  KeePass continues to improve.  Show some support!

RoboForm is a fantastic program, but the fact that it doesn’t run on Linux is a major problem for me. KeePass seems like the best alternative, but it does not currently support a direct import from RoboForm. I have almost 140 passwords, many of which consist of 10-30 random characters. Typing these in manually would be a major headache, so here’s the best hack that I found.

  • Download the trial version of PassCrypt
  • Import your RoboForm data to PassCrypt
  • Export your newly imported data from PassCrypt to a CSV file. You don’t need the headings.
  • Download a CSV file editor – I recommend CSVed
  • Once you’ve installed CSVed – go to Tools, Options, Double Quotes. Click the box next to “Save CSV File With Double Quotes”. If you don’t select this, your import will fail. KeePass requires that the data is between double quotes. If you try to use Excel it will strip the quotes from the file and the import will fail. Believe me on this one – I’m saving you a lot of time and trouble.
  • Open the CSV file you exported from PassCrypt in CSVed to modify the file.
  • Put your columns in the following order: “Account”,”Login Name”,”Password”,”Web Site”,”Comments”. You don’t need these column headings in your CSV file – you just need the columns in this order.
  • If you have any ampersands (&) in you passwords – do a find and replace in CSVed to replace all instances of & with &. It appears as if PassCrypt did this during the export to CSV.
    • Update 8/6/2007: At some point the WordPress WYSIWYG mangled my post in regards to HTML special characters. The bullet point above may have problems with the display of ampersands. The idea is that during the process of moving passwords from one program to another, the ampersands in your passwords may be replaced by the html character code. This will obviously cause your passwords to not work. Thanks to skibum mark for the heads-up.
  • You may notice that many of your usernames or passwords are missing from the exported file. This is because RoboForm captures these values from websites that use different terms to identify them. One may be “username” while one may be “logonid”. You’ll have to manually enter these missing values in CSVed or wait until the file is imported into KeePass.

I told you it was a hack. Someone needs to write a plugin to import passwords directly from RoboForm into KeePass. Until then – use the steps above. If there is enough interest I’ll put together a better tutorial with screenshots.

Kudos to Alana Post for the article RoboForm to KeePass – which outlines the basic steps.

  1. Duncan
    2007-01-29 at 9:17 PM

    I noticed nobody had posted any comments on here and I wanted to let you know your time and effort hadn’t gone to waste. I greatly appreciated your advice.

  2. 2007-01-29 at 9:27 PM

    Thanks for the comment Duncan. I’m happy that the post was useful to you. I still have not fully transitioned to KeePass, but at least I have my passwords imported. RoboForm is a killer app for me, and I hope that KeePass catches up!

  3. 2007-04-21 at 6:13 AM

    Hello Chris,
    I’d like to second Duncan’s comment. Very useful info – thank you.

    I recently got a client request for importing Roboform data into PassPack (that’s the online password manager I run). I found your article, and now we’re building Robofrom import directly into our import screen.

    Cheers,
    Tara

  4. David
    2007-04-29 at 12:42 PM

    “RoboForm … the fact that it doesn’t run on Linux is a major problem… ”

    … but neither does KeePass!

    http://keepassx.sourceforge.net/ does run on *nix, but not sure yet if it provides enough of what RoboForm does to allow me to migrate.

  5. 2007-04-29 at 10:38 PM

    KeePass does run on Linux. I’m running it on Ubuntu Linux right now. It even installs easily with a package.

    However, KeePass does lack the browser integration and automation that makes RoboForm so great.

  6. David
    2007-04-29 at 11:24 PM

    I can’t find it in Ubuntu repositories, can’t find it on KeePass website for download and I only see reference in their forum to running it on Ubuntu via WINE. Where / how did you install it?

    Also, the new version is disappointingly built on .NET which means it’s Windows-only.

  7. 2007-04-29 at 11:45 PM

    It is called KeePassX in the universe repositories. You may have to add the universe repository. (System – Administration – Software Sources) Also – it is in Feisty and Edgy, but not Dapper.

    KeePassX – KeePass port for Linux

  8. David
    2007-04-30 at 12:33 AM

    Ah, so exactly what I said in my first reply. 😉

    KeePass != KeePassX

  9. skibum mark
    2007-07-31 at 1:20 PM

    Your instruction of “replace & with &” was puzzling, until I saw that CSV had imported a couple of & signs with the associated html markup of “&” I replaced all of it with no trouble.

    I could be wrong but it looks like you need to turn off html rendering in your instructions so that & shows as “&”.

    Otherwise, well done.

  10. skibum mark
    2007-07-31 at 1:21 PM

    Aargh. Watch for the ampersand html code. My last post got crunched as bad as your instructions.

  11. 2007-08-15 at 11:50 AM

    8 months later and this is still helpin folks out… ME!

    Thanks a ton and good riddence to RoboCrap 😛

  12. Ashwani
    2007-08-27 at 4:55 PM

    Great post…

    One question. When I try to export the Roboform data, the options it provides are: Export To Firefox bookmarks, Internet Exporer Bookmarks.

    I exported to IE bookmarks and created all my pass link in IE Favorites in my Docs&Settings folder.

    When I export to Firefox so I can get a single html file, it exports but doesn’t prompt me where I want to store the html file. And, i can’t find the exported file anywhere on disk. Not sure what it going on, but if you can point me to right place, would be great.

    Again, great pointer on keypass. I guess I will be using that on my sweet sweet ubuntu.

  13. Ashwani
    2007-08-27 at 4:56 PM

    Oh on another note.. RoboCrap doesn’t have any documentation of the export feature in their extensive help site..

    Sneaky I would say.. Never will buy from them again.

  14. Rodrigo
    2007-09-12 at 11:05 AM

    I can´t import roboform files into passcrypt. There is an error. What should I do?

    The Alana Post reference does not exist. There´s another one?

    Tkank you.

  15. 2007-09-12 at 12:52 PM

    It has been too long since I wrote this post and I cannot provide any support beyond what is in the post. (I don’t have time right now to go through the process again…sorry)

    I encourage everybody to contact RoboForm and ask that they provide better export functionality and Linux support. A truly good application makes it easy for you to leave it, even though it contradicts the goal of retention.

    Good luck.

  16. David
    2007-09-12 at 3:04 PM

    “I encourage everybody to contact RoboForm and ask that they provide … Linux support”

    I’ve written 12 months ago and 3 months ago – same response – “we have no plans to support Linux”.

    KeePass 2.x will eventually run on Linux (once the Mono project release version 2.2 later this year). Also KeePassX is still under development, so that might be another route out of RoboForm … assuming we work out how to export our data!

  17. haranath
    2007-11-05 at 11:56 AM

    I got the same problem..and i though will their be a solution ? just i have tried in google…..fantastic i found your page……..

    Thank you very much for this post…….chris rocks

  18. Haroon Ikram
    2007-11-21 at 12:34 PM

    Thank you very much for this information. I would like to use Roboform on Linux at university as well, but they have no support for it. I will try your solution when I have a chance!!

  19. 2007-11-26 at 5:23 AM

    i managed to install, patch and run roboform pro 6.3.96 under wine on linux (ubuntu, amd64). roboform icon nicely sits in tray giving me access to all the passcards I’ve created back there on windows, but…
    the most useful feature of roboform on windows was roboform extension for firefox – it could save & fill forms + generate passwords – so the question is do you know about such firefox extension for linux?

    regards,
    rstets.

  20. David
    2007-11-27 at 8:39 AM

    rstets, http://www.sxipper.com/ will replace a lot of RoboForm functionality. It’s being actively developed and the dev team seem responsive to feature requests.

  21. 2007-11-27 at 9:52 AM

    right, that’s the one I use as a linux replacement for roboform extension. thanks 🙂

  22. 2007-12-19 at 6:45 PM

    David – Thanks for sharing Sxipper.

    I have not tried it yet, but it looks like the perfect RoboForm replacement.

  23. 2008-04-23 at 9:55 PM

    I use roboform everyday, and I love it. It saves me time when filling in forms and also logging into different accounts

  24. 2008-05-08 at 7:54 PM

    I have been using Roboform for a year now. I love the program, and don’t know what I would do without it. I would recommend it. I made a quick video about teh program and posted it on squidoo

  25. Niko
    2008-07-07 at 1:08 AM

    Cute Password Manager can import Roboform’s data.
    Please see it at http://www.cutepasswordmanager.com/tutorials.php

  26. 2008-07-13 at 11:21 AM

    Hi,
    Just a quick note. I realize this posting is a bit out of date, but I have a much simpler solution to this. Just download and run Keepass 2.x alpha; no need to install it. Print list in Roboform and hit save to html. Import in Keepass 2.x using the html-roboform import feature. Export to Keepass 1.x type. Import into Keepass 1.x. Done

  27. edel
    2008-07-27 at 8:50 AM

    You made my day! Thanks soooo much!!! I just did it and worked great.

    To those who are using Roboform “cracked” version, the DLL that you are patching it has a trojan within. What a great place to put a trojan. For these sensitive data all software should be OpenSource. Keepass seens the best and this tutorial is companion.

  28. 2008-09-09 at 4:16 AM

    Thanks, very useful article to me.

  29. Alkatr0z
    2008-10-01 at 6:32 PM

    If you’d rather not download another program and have something that handles RegEx Search & Replace you can use this regex on your csv file:
    (“[^”]*”,”[^”]*”,”[^”]+”)(,”[^”]*”)(,”[^”]*”)
    Replace with: \1\3\2

    This should get everything unless you have a ” in one of your fields in which case that one won’t get swapped around.

  30. 2009-03-23 at 8:38 AM

    Thanks for this post. It led me most of the way there, but there were a few variations in my experience, since it seems that my version of Keepassx did not offer to option to import from a csv. I followed these steps after getting the Roboform data into a CSV:

    * In csved, I deleted all but the Description, Username, Password, url and notes columns and keep the column names.
    * In a text editor, in the top row, which now contains the column names, change “Description” to “Title” and “Notes” to “Comment”
    * Use cvs2xml (http://www.a7soft.com/csv2xml.zip) to convert the cvs to xml
    * Import the resulting xml into Keepassx

  31. gruvtech
    2009-04-17 at 3:18 PM

    @ Ashwani, i know what you ran into with exporting Roboform Data. i had the same troubles at first then i stumbled upon the PassCrypt Help file when in the PassCrypt “Import” area.

    to sum up: 1) go into “edit a Passcard”
    2) enter master password (if you have one)
    3) select “Passcard” and then “Print List” from the drop-down

  32. jimjon
    2009-10-14 at 9:35 AM

    Thank you for the article.

    You actually can export from Roboform into HTML, they just hide it well.

    If you go into the passcard editor and choose File > Print List, this will create a formatted list of username/passwords and URLs. Choose Columns:1 and the check box to export the full URL. Once the file is generated, click Save. It will create an HTML file (but with a .htm extension).

    Open Keepass, choose File > Import > Roboform HTML passcards. Choose *AllFiles from the Type drop down.

    Verified with Keepass 2.09 and Roboform 6.9.96.

  33. Rohit
    2010-02-09 at 3:53 AM

    Hi,

    If any of you have workrd on CSVed ,please send the tutorial to me
    I need it urgently.My emai i s rohit.k59@gmail.com

  34. Ashton
    2010-04-23 at 6:55 PM

    Thank you very much for posting this. I did a Google search, read the Spb Wallet forum and found my way here from there. I have about 200 Roboform cards and although the program has been great over the last few years, I would like to consolidate it all into Spb Wallet so that I have the data on my new HD2 as well as on the desktop. You’ve made this possible and easy enough for me and it looks like for many other as well.

    Thanks again,

    Ash

  35. 2010-04-29 at 12:29 PM

    Just thought I’d mention that editing the CSV to add the double-quotes is no longer necessary, as the KeePass import has been improved to handle this.

    Other than that step, this is spot on! Thanks!

  36. we
    2010-05-19 at 1:47 PM

    great import steps from Jimjon! Worked perfectly. Is there also a way to import safenotes and identities or does Keepass not handle that data?

  37. 2010-08-07 at 6:33 AM

    CSV file format is convenient to move any data around applications.

  38. 2010-08-07 at 8:25 AM

    I used to use Open Office Spreadsheets and CSV File Export to to the moving job. With this new feature it definitely became easier.

  39. Jeff
    2010-12-23 at 5:03 PM

    I tried the plugins on KeePass’s site, and couldn’t get them to work. This works! Thanks for this tutorial.

  1. 2007-12-03 at 12:13 AM

Leave a Reply

