Home > Home Improvement > Build a Folding Workbench

Build a Folding Workbench

Folding Workbench

Build a folding workbench that folds up against a wall

OK, it’s really a table.  Nonetheless I use mine often for various projects around the house and yard.

Do you need a workbench but don’t have room in the garage or basement?  With an inexpensive folding table you can make a workbench that takes up very little room and folds out of the way when you’re finished working.  I bought my table several years ago at Sam’s Club, but I’m sure you can get these tables other places as well.

I chose to install my table on a side wall in my garage – parallel to my car.  This gives me a large workspace when I need it and folds up when I have my car in the garage.

Very little hardware is required to attach the table to the wall.  Here are the essential items:

  • Lag screws – to attach hinges to studs.  These should be heavy duty, because they will hold the table to the wall.
  • Bolts, washers, and nuts – to attach hinges to table.  Don’t use screws here, because the table is particle board and the screws will eventually come loose.
  • Hinges – I used very large hinges.  You could probably get away with smaller hinges, but why risk it.
  • Hasp – The hasp is what is used to secure the top of the table once you’ve folded it up against the wall.
  • Machine screws and nuts – to attach hasp to table.  I used some Loctite on the machine screws to make sure that the nuts don’t come loose.  Again – don’t use wood screws with particle board.

Folding Workbench - Hardware

The first step is to figure out where you want the table.  You’ll want to line it up on the wall so that the hinges line up evenly on the table and match up with studs in the wall.  Once everything is lined up, trace the hinges and hinge holes on the table so you know where to drill the holes.

Folding Workbench - Drilling the Holes

Make sure that you line up the holes carefully outside the frame of the table.

Folding Workbench - Attaching the Hinges

Once the hinges are attached to the table, the next step is to attach the hinges and table to the wall.  It is crucial that the hinges line up with the studs, otherwise the lag screws won’t hit the studs and the table won’t be adequately supported.

Folding Workbench - Attaching Hinges and Table to the Wall

I used 5/16″ lag screws that were 3″ long to attach the hinges and table to the wall.

Folding Workbench - Attaching Hinges and Table to the Wall

Once the hinges and table are attached to the wall, it is time to install the hasp.  The hasp will secure the table at the top when it is folded against the wall.   Take care when attaching the hasp.  It involves two pieces – one on the table and one on the wall.  These must line up for the hasp to work.  I used a small section of a 2×4 to provide spacing and attach the wall part of the hasp.  Use a long lag screw to attach the 2×4 section to the wall.

Folding Workbench - Hasp

Folding Workbench - Hasp

Attach the other part of the hasp to the underside of the table – flush with the front of the table.  You will likely have to move the hasp around until it lines up properly.

Folding Workbench - Hasp

Once the hasp is installed, it should look similar to the photo below.

Folding Workbench - Completed Hasp Installation

Once the hasp is complete, your folding workbench is ready to use.  If you’re worried about the hasp failing, you can put a carabiner or padlock though it.  This will ensure that the table doesn’t fall unexpectedly.

To fold up the table:

  1. Fold the table up to the wall.
  2. Fasten the hasp.
  3. Fold the legs in for compact storage.

To fold the table down:

  1. Open the legs of the table.
  2. Undo the hasp.
  3. Carefully lower the table to the floor.

Folding Workbench - Complete

Folding Workbench - Complete

Folding Workbench - Complete

If you have any questions or suggestions, please send me an email via my contact page.  I fully trust that my folding table will not fall unexpectedly.  If yours falls, you likely used inadequate hardware or did not hit the studs in the wall.

Categories: Home Improvement Tags: ,
  1. 2010-01-11 at 3:08 AM | #1

    If this is an original idea, I am very impressed. This is the first time I have been on blog.chriskoester.net. I am looking forward to reading some of these in my down time!

  2. 2010-08-26 at 9:20 AM | #2

    Pretty cool idea. Thanks for sharing the steps. Very unique projects.

  3. 2010-09-11 at 3:27 PM | #3

    Very cool idea. I’ll suggest your blog to my husband.:)

  4. Tony
    2010-09-28 at 8:26 AM | #4

    Great idea and simple installation. I’m thinking of adding another hasp just to be safe and putting magnetic strips on the bottom of table for tools when I don’t need to unfold the table.

  5. 2011-03-23 at 8:47 AM | #5

    Yeep! Been kicking around ideas myself for my so-called “2 car garage”, thats just barely enough room for my two cars.:P Was banging around ideas for building some kinda table but using a built table already is a great idea. Thanks.

  6. 2011-03-28 at 11:20 PM | #6

    Very well thought out.

  7. Ken
    2011-04-27 at 8:02 PM | #7

    This is great exactly what I need, I have the table and the need for the work bench as well as space issues in the garage.

    I can hear my wife now, “don’t put holes in my table”

  8. Alan Cole
    2011-06-03 at 9:00 AM | #8

    wonderful idea, thinking outside the square.

  9. 2012-07-05 at 11:07 AM | #9

    Great idea. Handy to have yet folds away for a real space saver.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

